Wrong Data – Right Results!

Last evening I told myself I would go for a walk in the morning.  I downloaded an app to track my results.  I didn’t have a goal in distance or time; I just wanted to start my day with a walk.  

I awoke just before my 630a alarm, got out my iPad and began writing my daily gratitude list. The list was something I started some 30 days ago and it has proven immeasurably beneficial. While making my list I was thinking of my walking commitment made the night before. I wasn’t arguing with myself or making excuses but I hadn’t yet gotten out of bed.  Having finished my gratitude entry, I then checked email and Facebook and realized my energy was diminishing, if only slightly, and I was almost ready to just jump in the shower and start my day.  

Instead, I got dressed and went for a walk.  The clothes I chose were functional and suited for the 37 degree morning.  Outside on my front step I opened the app and pressed start.  I was immediately motivated because I took action and was honoring a commitment I made to myself (and had broken before).  The snow hadn’t melted on the sidewalks so footing wasn’t sure.  At first chance, I exited the walk and took off up the street.  Feeling a bit cold putting my hands in my pockets, I walked not paying much attention to anything but the steps I was taking.  I went a bit longer than I originally envisioned and finished up with a slight jog.  

Inside my home I opened the app eager to see the results.  21 minutes and 3.4 miles.  I was a bit surprised and very pleased.  Wow 3.4 miles … I can do this every day.  I immediately recalibrated my thinking – one day at a time. I took off my jacket and sweatshirt, showered, dressed and made a pot of coffee.  Looking again at the app it showed a map of my walk but had me going places I didn’t go.  I enlarged the map and saw even clearer the incorrect data it had logged for me.  

I had the wrong data but the right results.  I had not walked 3.4 miles but I walked.  And leading up to it was simpler than ever.  I didn’t research the best walk tracking app, wear the right outfit, or even do prep/post stretches.  I didn’t set long term goals tied to specific outcomes.  I didn’t envision myself having accomplished the goal and experiencing pride and satisfaction.  I didn’t share my commitment with others, ask someone to partner with me or join a gym.  I simply made and kept a commitment to myself; I started my day by going for a walk.  

Too many people try to reinvent the wheel while a Ferrari roars past.  Don’t overthink, overplan, overanalyze or overcommit.  Our lives will be over soon enough. Take action today doing what you know works and do it well.

Posted in Commitment

Leave a Reply

