He’s Unstoppable… Are You?

Anthony Robles is the 2011 125lb NCAA Wrestling Champion with an amazing 36-0 record. What’s even more amazing is he was born with one leg and raised by his Mom after his Father walked out on the family. It’s no wonder he received two ESPY Awards – “Best Male Athlete with a Disability”. and the “Jimmy V Award for Perseverance” .

Here is Anthony’s Robles ESPY acceptance speech.

 ”Every Soul Who Comes To Earth, With A Leg or Two At Birth… Must Wrestle His Opponents Knowing… It’s Not What Is, It’s What Can Be That Measures Worth… Make It Hard, Just Make It Possible… And Through Pain I’ll Not Complain, My Spirit Is Unconquerable.. .Fearless I Will Face Each Fo, For I Know I Am Capable… I Don’t Care What’s Probable, Through Blood, Sweat, And Tears I Am UNSTOPPABLE”

Jimmy V is of course Jim Valvano, former head coach of the men’s basketball team at NC State who won the 1983 NCAA Tournament. Valvano is remembered for running up and down the court after winning the ’83 championship and for his unforgettable speech at the 1993 ESPY Awards given just eight weeks before he died of cancer. One particularly poignant section of Valvano’s speech is as follows:

“To me, there are three things we all should do every day. We should do this every day of our lives. Number one is laugh. You should laugh every day. Number two is think. You should spend some time in thought. And number three is, you should have your emotions moved to tears, could be happiness or joy. But think about it. If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day. That’s a heck of a day. You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something special.”

He’s closed his speech by saying, “Cancer can take away all of my physical abilities. It cannot touch my mind, it cannot touch my heart, and it cannot touch my soul. And those three things are going to carry on forever. I thank you and God bless you all.” His tombstone reads “Take time every day to laugh, to think, to cry.”

He left us with the forever memorable challenge …”Don’t Give Up . . . Don’t Ever Give Up.” 
Posted in Commitment

Leave a Reply

